Welcome

I’m Linn Dunton and I have the privilege of serving athletes, parents, and coaches as the Director of Athletics at Liberty Charter High School. I became an athlete when I was 8 years old and continued competing through high school, college, and post collegiately in pursuit of the Olympics. Today, I still compete in Masters Track and Field in a variety of events. I’ve also had the joy of coaching at every academic level from elementary to college. What I’ve learned from a lifetime of athletics has shaped me into the leader I am today. My own coaches had a huge impact on not only my ability as an athlete but my development as a person, which is why I’m so passionate about fostering the same kind of growth in our LCHS student-athletes.

The LCHS athletic program is relatively young, with our first teams joining CIF in 2009. Today, we field 16 teams across 8 sports and have won 15 league and 2 CIF championships. In just 8 years, our teams have been selected to the CIF All-Academic team 12 times. Other scholar-athlete awards include: Union-Tribune All-Academic Team, Frontier Conference All League Teams, Frontier Conference Player of the Year, and multiple college/university scholarships. In the 2016-17 season, 46% of our students competed in sports.

Liberty Charter High School is dedicated to excellence in the classroom and in athletics. We believe our fields and courts are the last classroom of the day. Our greatest priority is partnering with parents and coaches to teach student-athletes character. While winning is our GOAL, developing men and women of excellent character who will make a positive impact at LCHS and beyond is our PURPOSE. We help student-athletes develop critical life skills, such as respect, responsibility, and integrity, in order to be successful on and off the field.

A great example of this development is our Student Athlete Leadership Team (SALT). Each semester, our team captains from the current sports participate in a weekly leadership course. Captains are provided with useful training materials and given weekly leadership tasks to complete. These SALT courses provide helpful tools so team captains can successfully lead their peers and themselves. This is just one example of the steps we take to help our student-athletes develop character and learn lasting life lessons.

Our highest priority for student-athletes is their academic success and character development. In order to be eligible for an athletic team, students must maintain a minimum 2.0 GPA and have no F’s or unacceptable conduct marks on any progress report.

We invite you and your student-athlete to be a part of the Liberty Lions Team.

For the Pride,

Linn Dunton
Director of Athletics
linn.dunton@lfcsinc.org

LCHS Athletic Director

Linn Dunton
linn.dunton@lfcsinc.org

LCHS Coaches

FALL

Cross Country
Daniel Sanchez
daniel.sanchez@lfcsinc.org
   Girls Varsity Volleyball
Bethany Gaut
bethany.gaut@lfcsinc.org
  Girls JV Volleyball
Missy Primmer
missy.primmer@lfcsinc.org
 
Flag Football
Larry Scarsella
larry.scarsella@lfcsinc.org
WINTER
Boys JV Basketball
Josh Austel
josh.austel@lfcsinc.org
   Girls Basketball
Dean Brunson
dean.brunson@lfcsinc.org
  Boys Basketball
Jonathan Terry
jonathan.terry@lfcsinc.org
 
 
Boys Varsity Basketball (Assistant)
Donnie Staples
donnie.staples@lfcsinc.org
  Girls Soccer
Aimee Hatfield
aimee.hatfield@lfcsinc.org
 Boys Soccer
Greg Williams
greg.williams@lfcsinc.org
SPRING
Baseball
Tony Ceniceros
tony.ceniceros@lfcsinc.org
  Track & Field
Daniel Sanchez
daniel.sanchez@lfcsinc.org
     Boys Volleyball
Jonathan Abbas
jonathan.abbas@lfcsinc.org
Bethany Gaut (Assistant)
bethany.gaut@lfcsinc.org
Girls Softball
Brianna Simoneau
brianna.simoneau@lfcsinc.org
  Girls Softball (Assistant)
Waylon Primmer
waylon.primmer@lfcsinc.org
    

Parents: Click Here to Download the Sports Calendar.


LCHS Athletics News:

• When are Spring Sports Athletic Clearance Forms Due? February 9th.
• When are Spring Sports Tryouts? February 17th.